I know a little amazing restaurant in Athens (Greece)

To_Trikyklo

Hello world! Today’s post is about an amazing little restaurant we went to in Athens. Such a nice place, I could not do without sharing it!

If you go to Greece, you will find a lot of tavernas. They are restaurants serving traditional Greek cuisine: simple, but lovely food. Last month, we spent 2 amazing weeks in Greece and went to “To Trikyklo” for dinner. Verdict: this taverna is a little gem for food and to see the real Greek life unfold.

First of all, I like this restaurant because it is off the tourist circuit. We sat at the terrace, and were probably the only tourists there. To me it is the best way to enjoy “local” lifestyle. I could stay like that and enjoy people watching for hours: teenagers meeting up with friends to play basketball (there is a basket ground right in front of the place) ; families going on evening walks; locals “get together”, chatting about daily life I presume …

When I travel, I usually want to speak the local language as much as I can but my Greek skills were quite limited. So, the first good thing was that the waiters spoke English and were so kind to us :they were such nice hosts. We did not feel “treated” as “tourists” like it can happen in some places. For those who have already experienced the French waiters in Paris – you know what I am talking about ! (And overall I must say, Greek people are very nice and welcoming)

Food wise, “To Trikyklo” is a MUST VISIT. This is my favorite restaurant in Athens. There is a huge variety of Greek mezze, made from fresh ingredients: heaven in a mouthful! I recommend you take several mezze/appetizers instead of having a main. That is the best way to try a bit of everything. Though be careful, portions are huge!

My favorites were: mushrooms stuffed with cheese & bacon, fennel pie (see the picture below), tzatziki, Cyprus grilled cheese, fried tomato balls. We got a pitcher of the local house red wine. I liked it as it was a light one that fitted perfectly with the food we had.

Fennel Pie

I noticed that a lot of restaurants in Greece  offer the desert, and so does this place! We had a delicious chocolate biscuit (I do not recall the name), paired with a glass of honey raki : a lovely way to finish a great meal.

Prices are more than reasonable, so you have no excuses not to go there! 🙂

The location of the restaurant is not so easy to find. Make sure you look on the map before going there. The place is located in a pedestrian street, so it is not very accessible by car. The taxi will drop you at the top of the street and you just need to walk for 5 meters to get to the place.

I hope you will have the opportunity to try if you go to Athens, and tell me what you think about it! I am very curious to hear your feedback.

Details :
Pytheou 34 & Geometrou 1
Neos Kosmos, Athens 11743,
Greece

Phone number: +30 210 923 2384
Website with the English menu: http://www.totrikyklo.gr/blog/?page_id=7

The pictures in this post come from the Trip Advisor page dedicated to “To Trikyklo” : http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g189400-d2649991-Reviews-To_Trikyklo-Athens_Attica.html

Leave a Reply

